Go to 500 Owners Home PageAGM & Prize giving 14th November 2010

For the 2010 meeting and prize giving, we returned to the the British Motor Heritage Museum at Gaydon. The formal business was dealt with a highly efficient manner with the committee being re-elected en mass. The competition secretaries reported that the calendar for 2011 is coming together and the race calendar should be rather more settled tan last year. Membership continues to grow steadily and the club's finances are in good shape.

Richard Utley announced that he would be standing down as registrar at the end of the year. All regular circuit racing cars now have Club VIF documents which will be mandatory for 2011 form the start of the season. Cars without VIF's are welcome to race but will be in class D and not eligible for points. A number of changes were approved to the technical regulations, mostly recognising the independence of our VIF scheme. There was a debate over start procedures, the club voting to keep standing starts but will attempt to work more closely with the organising clubs to improve communications with start line marshals.

A spring karting event is being organised, details to be advised.

After lunch, we were treated to an informal talk by Mike Ledbrook, comparing his experiences racing in the early 1960s with our own. Many thanks to Mike for his time and a most entertaining talk.

Prize giving followed, then the Ashman picture show to finish things off.


Mike Ledbrook


2010 Awards

Hill Climb

John Parker Trophy (For pre 1954 historic cars): 1st Mark Riley, 2nd Jan Nycz, 3rd John Dent

Girling Trophy (For 1954 to 1961 historic cars): 1st Steve Lawrence, 2nd Patrick Riley, 3rd Mike Lawrence

David Latham Trophy (Lowest aggregate time at Shelsley Walsh and Gurston Down): Mark Riley

Schroeder Trophy (Fastest time at Shelsley Walsh): Steve Lawrence

Alan Walker Trophy (Fastest time at Prescott Classic meeting): John Turner

Bodyline Trophy (Lowest aggregate time at the Loton Park Classic weekend): John Dent


Douglas Sprint Trophy (For pre 1961 historic 500s): 1st Jan Nycz, 2nd Humphrey Collis

Jan Nycz.

Humphrey Collis

Circuit Racing

Overall Champion: 1st Nigel Ashman, 2nd Mike Fowler, 3rd Neil Hodges

Circuit Racing Class A: 1945 1949: 1st Richard Bishop-Miller, 2nd Shirley Monro

Circuit Racing Class B: 1950 1953: 1st Nigel Ashman, 2nd George Shackleton, 3rd Roy Hunt

Circuit Racing Class C 1954 on: 1st Nigel Challis, 2nd Neil Hodges, 3rd Mike Fowler

John Turner Trophy (JAP engined cars) 1st Neil Hodges, 2nd George Shackleton, 3rd Richard Bishop-Miller

Overall and Class C Champion, Nigel Ashman

Martin Shepherd persevered

John Turner

George Shackleton

Other Awards

More cheese Grommet!

Perseverance: Martin Shepherd

Peter Collins Cup: George Shackleton

Peter Kendall Trophy: Richard Bishop-Miller

Iverna Wright Memorial: Simon Frost

Historic Fast Lady: Shirley Monro

Concours Trophy: Darrell Woods

Coupe Cinzano: J.B. Jones

Trevellick Memorial Trophy: Tim Ross

Equipe Brutoni Salver: James Holland

Brian Hall Trophy for Literary Merit: Neil Hodges

The Chairman's Cup: Jan Nycz

Well done to all who helped make 2010 such a great year on and off track.

Report and photos by Neil Hodges

Go to 500 Owners Home Page